ConstructioNext is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Beacon Building Products Launches Annual Beacon of Hope Contest

Article-Beacon Building Products Launches Annual Beacon of Hope Contest

Construction roofing crew uses power tools to screw and fasten sheet metal to the roof rafters of a building.
Nominations sought for Veterans in need of a safer roof.

Beacon launched its annual Beacon of Hope, a nationwide contest awarding deserving Veterans with new roofs.

For the third year in a row, as part of Beacon’s commitment to its communities, the contest is open to all military Veterans, provided they have received an honorable or general discharge. 

Together with local roofing companies, Beacon will deliver and facilitate roofing repair or replacement for six Veteran contest winners at no cost to the recipient. Six second prize winners will receive $2,500 each to help complete necessary repairs.

Last year, people from across the country came together to cast thousands of votes for the Beacon of Hope finalists whose roofs were in dire need of repair or replacement. 

“We want to help our nation’s Veterans who have given so much to our country,” said Jamie Samide, Beacon’s VP of marketing. “The Beacon of Hope contest is just one way that we can provide support and ensure they are protected by a reliable roof. We encourage the public to honor Veterans within their communities by nominating them for an opportunity to receive a new roof.”

From Aug. 16, 2021, through Sept. 17, 2021, the public can nominate a U.S. Veteran at the Beacon of Hope website or submit an e-mail to [email protected]

Nominations must include a photo and short bio of the Veteran, which includes their military branch, years of service and why the nominee is deserving of a new roof. 

Twelve finalists will be announced in October, and the public will have the opportunity to vote and determine the six winners.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.